By Carl Sanger

The Art Dump is the name tagged to a team of like-minded creative misfits who work under the same flat roof in Torrance, California. They are, essentially, The Girl Skateboard Company’s full-time art department. The veteran, Andy Jenkins (Bend Press) uses his title as art director loosely. He considers the crew a co-op and lets it operate that way, with each artist bringing their own unique, individual vision to the Girl brands. The current team roster includes: Carlos M Gutierrez (CMG), Myke Marts (mykemarts.com), Andy Mueller (The Quiet Life & Ohio Girl), Eric ‘Gordy’ Gorvin, and Nick Zegel (ZEEGISBREATHING).

That is the simplest way you can break down the Art Dump, though it’s not really that simple, for each of these people has a myriad of interests, talents and mediums. As a group, and individually, they work in both commercial and non-commercial worlds. Sometimes these worlds collide and that is where the Art Dump’s collaborative projects exist — amidst the rubble and question marks of a crash site of graphics and fine art.

There are others who flow in and out of the Dump, offering their own abilities from time to time and working in the collaborative environment with the core group. Those include: Spike Jonze, Evan Hecox, Lori Damiano, Thomas Campbell, Rick McCrank, Brian Anderson, Marc Johnson, Brad Staba, Andrew Pommier, and Edith Abeyta.

Alumni of the Art Dump include: Hershel Baltrotsky (Art Raffle), Christian Morin (C.Morin Studio), Rob Abeyta Jr., Michael Coleman, Bucky Fukumoto, Johannes Gamble, Bob Kronbauer, Tony Larson, Michael Leon, Kevin Lyons, Geoff McFettridge, Jordan Mitchell, Misato Suzuki, Nate Hooper, Eric Anthony (The High Desert), Chris Waycott, and Jeremy Carnahan.